10900 SOUTH AVE. NORTH LIMA, OHIO 44452-0217

Phone: 330-549-2165

Sentinels of Safety Award

Safety AwardsEFCC is very onscientious of the safety of their workers in the underground mining industry and they do everything they can for the safety and well-being of their employees. They have been the winner of this award three times.

2010 Small Underground Coal Group, Sterling Mining Corp- Shean Hill Mine with 86,455 injury-free hours.

2007 Small Underground Coal Group, Sterling Mining Corp, South Mine with 56,423 injury-free hours.

2007 Small Underground Nonmetal Group, East Fairfield Coal Co, Petersburg Limestone Mine with 38,941 hours.

About the Sentinels of Safety Award:

Sentinels of Safety are awarded annually to the nation's safest mines with a minimum of 4,000 injury-free hours. The awards were initiated in 1925 by then-Commerce Secretary Herbert Hoover and remain the nation's most prestigious awards recognizing mining safety.

Co-sponsored by the National Mining Association (NMA) and the U.S. Department of Labor's Mine Safety and Health Administration (MSHA), the Sentinels of Safety award is presented annually to those mines with the best safety records in the country – which means they are also among the safest mines in the world. Sentinels of Safety winners are those mines that have worked the most employee hours without experiencing a lost-time injury. The competition requires a minimum of at least 4,000 injury-free hours, and winning operations usually far exceed that total.

Although the competition has grown and changed somewhat over the years, its basic purpose remains un-altered since first presented in 1925 by then-Secretary of commerce and future President Herbert Hoover, who originated the idea. That objective, as outlined in the opening sentence of the competition's rules, is to “stimulate the greater interest in safety among the nation's mineral-extractive industries and to encourage the development of more effective accident-prevention programs by according national recognition to operations achieving outstanding safety records.”

Sentinels of Safety Award

In the most basic sense, the competition reflects the continuing commitment by government, mining companies, and miners themselves, to a goal of zero injuries and fatalities... a commitment borne out of the industry's steadily improving safety record. This dedication, combined with extensive safety training and education, and continued technological advancement, has resulted in a 72 percent decline in the rate of total metal, nonmetal, and coal mining injuries from 1990 through 2010, according to MSHA data. While mine working conditions are often complex and demanding, there is a realization and growing awareness that no room exists in the modern mining industry for unsafe practices – and that a safe mine is always a productive mine.

As is true with any prestigious competition, the Sentinels of Safety is represented by a venerable and majestic symbol – the bronze trophy originally created by Begni Del Piatta, a renowned Italian sculptor of the 1920s. The award depicts the figure of a woman and child, with engraved plates illustrating the different types of mining, and the winner's nameplate on the base. Trophies are awarded each year to winners in each of 10 categories: underground coal, surface coal, underground metal, underground nonmetal, open pit, quarry, bank or pit (sand/gravel), dredge (sand/gravel), coal preparation facilities and mills. Each of the 10 categories recognizes a large and small winner. Each winner receives a trophy, which it retains for one year, along with a Sentinels flag to serve as a permanent reminder of the honor.

NMA's involvement in the competition continues a legacy started by the American Mining Congress (AMC), which merged with the National Coal Association (NCA) in 1995 to form the National Mining Association. AMC agreed to co-sponsor the competition in 1961 when the original donor of the Sentinels trophy, Explosives Engineer magazine, ceased publishing. As the nationwide representative of the mining industry, NMA's involvement is indicative of the industry's commitment to reducing accidents and encouraging safety conciousness among its workers; complying with applicable federal, state, and local safety laws and regulations; and continuing an ongoing partnership with government and other organizations who share the goal of creating the safest and best possible mining work environment.

The East Fairfield Coal Co.

10900 South Avenue P.O. Box 217 North Lima, Ohio 44452

Phone: 330-549-2165

© East Fairfield Coal All rights reserved • powered by iMprivacy policy